Scroll to top

Design Guild Mark launches 2022 call for entries

Design Guild Mark - September 16, 2021 - 0 comments

The Design Guild Mark has launched the call for entries for the 2022 awards, inviting designers and companies to submit entries for three categories: Furniture, Textiles, Wall Coverings, Surfaces, Carpets and Floor Coverings, and Lighting Design.

The Design Guild Mark, awarded by The Furniture Makers’ Company, has been distinguishing the excellent from the ordinary in the design of furnishings intended for volume production for more than 10 years.

It is unique to other design awards as the panel of independent judges – all experts in the field of design – examine the submitted piece and question the designer during a judging day.

Designs awarded a Mark benefit from increased industry and consumer awareness, press and social media coverage, with the designers and companies behind them also receiving enhanced brand recognition.

The piece from each of the three categories deemed to be the most outstanding by the judges will also win the Jonathan Hindle Prize for Excellence.

Designers and companies have until 26 November 2021 to submit an entry to meet the early bird deadline and until 21 January 2022 for the final deadline.

Rodney McMahon, chairman of the Design Guild Mark, said: “The variety and quality of designs, from both established and aspiring designers, applying for the Design Guild Mark is always stimulating. With the launch of the Lighting Design category last year, we now have three different design strands that we hope will attract an even broader range of applicants and ensure that the award of a Design Guild Mark continues to be something to which to aspire.”

The Design Guild Mark judging panels for 2022 will be:


Joanna Biggs – GA Design

Sarah Bryan – ID:SR

Elliott Koehler – Layer Design

Jeremy Myerson – Royal College of Art

Tom Pearce – Farrah & Pearce

Campbell Thompson – The Conran Shop

Lighting Design

Simon Alderson – twentytwentyone

Tim Rundle – Tim Rundle Design Studio

Simon Terry – Anglepoise

John Tree – Jasper Morrison

Sebastian Wrong – Established & Sons

Textiles, Wall Coverings, Surfaces, Carpets and Floor Coverings

Linzi Coppick – Forme UK

Daniel Hopwood – Hopwood Design Studios

Professor Clare Johnson – Royal College Of Art

Natasha Marshall – Natasha Marshall

Corinne Pringle – TP Bennett

Peter Thwaites – Rapture & Wright

Related posts

Post a Comment