Scroll to top

Design Guild Mark extends application deadline and postpones judging days

Design Guild Mark - January 22, 2021 - 0 comments

Designers and companies intending on entering the 2021 Design Guild Mark now have another month to do so as the award’s committee today announced that it was extending the application deadline and postponing the online judging days.

The final submission deadline for this year’s Design Guild Mark is now Friday 26 February 2021.

The judging days, which are taking place virtually this year, are to be moved to the following dates:

  • Furniture – Tuesday 20 April 2021
  • Textiles, Wall Coverings, Surfaces, Carpets and Floor Coverings – Wednesday 21 April 2021
  • Lighting Design – Thursday 22 April 2021

Shortlisted designers will be asked to create a three-minute film of their design, exploring its features and explaining how it meets the award criteria. The film will be watched by the jury ahead of the judging day where the designers will have to present online to the judges, answering any questions they may have about the piece.

Successful designers whose pieces are awarded a Mark will be invited to attend an awards ceremony at a date to be determined.

2021 call for entries

Rodney McMahon, Design Guild Mark chairman, said: “Last month we took necessary precautions to adapt the 2021 judging days to purely online affairs so we could ensure the safety of everyone involved. However, with the situation having worsened since then and a stay-at-home order in place as part of the third national lockdown, we have decided to postpone the judging days to enable shortlisted entrants more time to be able to film their designs – many of which may not be easily accessible. We still very much look forward to seeing and reviewing this year’s submissions at the new judging days and encourage anyone who hasn’t entered yet to take advantage of the deadline extension.”

The Design Guild Mark, awarded by The Furniture Makers’ Company, has been distinguishing the excellent from the ordinary in the design of furnishings intended for volume production for more than 10 years.

Designs awarded a Mark benefit from increased industry and consumer awareness, press and social media coverage, with the designers and companies behind them also receiving enhanced brand recognition.

The piece from each of the three categories deemed to be the most outstanding by the judges will also win the Jonathan Hindle Prize for Excellence – a £1,000 cash prize.

For more information, please go to

The Design Guild Mark judging panels for 2021 will be:


Joanna Biggs – GA Design

Sarah Bryan – ID:SR

Elliott Koehler – Layer Design

Jeremy Myerson – Royal College of Art

Tom Pearce – Farrah & Pearce

Campbell Thompson – The Conran Shop

Terence Woodgate – Terence Woodgate Design

Lighting Design

Simon Alderson – twentytwentyone

Tim Rundle – Tim Rundle Design Studio

Simon Terry – Anglepoise

John Tree – Jasper Morrison

Sebastian Wrong – Established & Sons

Textiles, Wall Coverings, Surfaces, Carpets and Floor Coverings

Linzi Coppick – Forme UK

Daniel Hopwood – Hopwood Design Studios

Professor Clare Johnson – Royal College Of Art

Natasha Marshall – Natasha Marshall

Corinne Pringle – TP Bennett

Peter Thwaites – Rapture & Wright

Related posts

Post a Comment